American Thyroid Association Spring Symposium

Cardiovascular and Metabolic Issues in Patients with Thyroid Dysfunction: Implications for Treating Hypo- or Hyperthyroidism Marriott Metro Center, Washington, DC Friday, March 28, 2007

8:15 am	Welcome and Introductions ATA President: Rebecca Bahn Chairs: Reed Larsen and John Baxter
8:30 am 8:30 – 8:55 am 8:55 – 9:20 am 9:20 – 9:45 am 9:45 – 10:10 am 10:10 – 10:30 am	Hypothyroidism Session Chair: P. Reed Larsen Elizabeth Pearce: Lipid Alterations in Subclinical and Overt Hypothyroidism John Lazarus: Thyroid Disease and Vascular Function Enrique Silva: Thyroid Dysfunction and Body Weight Changes Wolfgang Dillmann: Influence of Hypothyroidism on Cardiovascular Function and its Mediation Douglas Bauer: Subclinical Hypothyroidism and Clinical Cardiovascular Disease
10:30 – 10:45 am	Break
10:45 am – Noon	Case Presentation: Hypothyroidism Panel Discussion of Management: David Cooper, Moderator Wolfgang Dillmann, Douglas Bauer, Elizabeth Pearce, and John Lazarus
Noon – 1:00 pm	Lunch
1:00 – 2:30 pm 1:00 –1:30 pm 1:30 – 2:00 pm 2:00 – 2:30 pm	Part 1: Hyperthyroidism Session Chair: Rebecca Bahn Irwin Klein: Thyrotoxic Cardiac Disease Gilbert Daniels: Amiodarone Induced Thyrotoxicosis Douglas Bauer: Thyrotoxicosis and the Skeleton: How Bad for the Bones?
2:30 – 3:30 pm	Case Presentation: Graves' Disease Panel Discussion of Management: E. Chester Ridgway, Moderator Rebecca Bahn, Gilbert Daniels, Irwin Klein, and Enrique Silva
3:30 – 3:45 pm	Break
3:45 – 5:30 pm	Part 2: Innovative uses of Thyroid Hormone or its Analogues Session Chair: John Baxter
3:45 – 4:05 pm	Paul Ladenson: Impact of Diiodothyroproprionic Acid (DITPA) on Serum Lipoproteins and Body Weight
4:05 – 4:20 pm	E. Chester Ridgway: Recent Clinical Trials with a Thyroid Hormone Analogue to Treat Dyslipidemias
4:20 – 4:40 pm 4:40 – 5:00 pm	John Baxter: Use of Thyroid Hormone Analogues to Treat the Metabolic Syndrome Irwin Klein: Thyroid Hormone and the Treatment of Congestive Heart Failure
5:00 - 5:30	Summary and Wrap-up Chairs: John Baxter and Reed Larsen