Call for Nominations for the 2011 Awards American Thyroid Association



Distinguished Service Award
Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Lectureship
Van Meter Lecture
Paul Starr Lecture
Lewis E. Braverman Lecture
John B. Stanbury Thyroid Pathophysiology Medal

The Van Meter Award Lecture established in 1930, recognizes outstanding contributions to research on the thyroid gland or related subjects. The award is given each year to an investigator who is not older than the age of 45 in the year of the award. The Van Meter award winner is kept secret until the time of the award lecture during the annual meeting. An honorarium and expenses are awarded to the Van Meter recipient. This award receives support from Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., Publishers.

Nominee:

Date of Birth

Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Lectureship Award, endowed by contributions to honor the memory of Sidney H. Ingbar, recognizes outstanding academic achievements in thyroidology, in keeping with the innovation and vision that epitomized Dr. Ingbar's brilliant investigative career. The Ingbar award is conferred upon an established investigator who has made major contributions to thyroid-related research over many years. An honorarium will be presented to the recipient.

Nominee:

The Paul Starr Award Lecture recognizes an outstanding contributor to clinical thyroidology. An honorarium will be presented to the recipient. This award receives support from Dr. Boris Catz.

Nominee:

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) honors a member who has made important and continuing contributions to the American Thyroid Association (ATA). The DSA award certificate is presented at the ATA Annual Banquet.

Nominee:

The John B. Stanbury Thyroid Pathophysiology Medal recognizes outstanding research contributions, either conceptual or technical, to the understanding of thyroid physiology or the pathophysiology of thyroid disease, as evidenced by having a major impact on research or clinical practice related to thyroid diseases. A medal, funded by Dr. John Stanbury, is conferred at the Annual Banquet.

Nominee:

The Lewis E. Braverman Lectureship Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated excellence and passion for mentoring fellows, students and junior faculty; has a long history of productive thyroid research; and is devoted to the ATA. The award is endowed by contributions to honor Dr. Lewis E. Braverman. An honorarium will be presented to the recipient.

Nominee:

Nominated by: (print or type)

Signature:

Date:

Nominators must submit all of the following electronically to <u>thyroid@thyroid.org</u> to complete the nomination by the deadline of March 31, 2011:

- 1. Completed and signed Nomination Form (above).
- 2. CV and brief nomination letter, emphasizing major accomplishments.
- 3. List of 2 to 4 most significant publications with PDF or URL to provide access to these papers.