Thursday, October 4, 2018, 8:05 AM – 8:50 AM
Van Meter Award Lectureship

Established in 1930, this award recognizes outstanding contributions to research on the thyroid gland or related subjects. The award is given each year to an investigator who is not older than the age of 45 in the year of the award.
The Van Meter award winner is kept secret until the time of the award lecture during the annual meeting.
Funded by the Van Meter endowment in memory of Jacob (Jack) Robbins created by Jean Robbins in 2014; and, by annual support from Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., publishers.

Saturday, October 6, 10:45 AM – 11:30 AM
Lewis E. Braverman Distinguished Lectureship Award
Established in 2011 by Dr. Braverman’s fellows, this award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated excellence and passion for mentoring fellows, students and junior faculty; has a long history of productive thyroid research; and is devoted to the ATA. 

Supported by the Lewis E. Braverman Endowment



R. Michael Tuttle, MDCommon Clinical Thyroid Cancer Questions in Need of Better Answers
Michael Tuttle, MD
Professor of Medicine
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
(Introduction by Denise R. Armellini, MD, Endocrinologist, The Endocrine Center and Paul Y. Casanova-Romero, MD, MPH, FACP, FACE, Endocrinologist, Palm Beach Diabetes and Endocrine Specialists)

Friday, October 5, 1:00 PM – 1:45 PM
Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Lectureship Award
This award recognizes outstanding academic achievements in thyroidology, in keeping with the innovation and vision that epitomized Dr. Ingbar’s brilliant investigative career. The award is conferred upon an established investigator who has made major contributions to thyroid-related research over many years.

Supported by the Sidney H. Ingbar Endowment


Anthony N. Hollenberg, MDNew Insights into Thyroid Hormone Action
Anthony N. Hollenberg, MD
Sanford I Weill Chair
Weill Cornell Medicine
(Introduction by Fredric E. Wondisford, MD, Henry Rutgers Professor and Chair of Medicine, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School)

Thursday, October 4, 2018, 1:00 PM – 1:45 PM
Paul Starr Award Lectureship
In recognition of an outstanding contributor to clinical thyroidology

Scott A. Rivkees, MD Unmasking the Problems with Anti-Thyroid Medication Safety
Scott A. Rivkees, MD
Professor and Chair
University of Florida Department of Pediatrics

 ATA Distinguished Service Award
In recognition and honor of a member who has made important and continuing contributions to the Association


David H. Sarne, MD, FACP David H. Sarne, MD, FACP
Clinical Associate
The University of Chicago

John B. Stanbury Thyroid Pathophysiology Medal
In recognition of outstanding research contributions, either conceptual or technical, to the understanding of thyroid physiology or the pathophysiology of thyroid disease, as evidenced by having a major impact on research or clinical practice related to thyroid diseases.

Supported by the Stanbury Endowment.

Marvin C. Gershengorn, MDMarvin C. Gershengorn, MD
Chief, Laboratory of Endocrinology and Receptor Biology
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
National Institutes of Health

Thursday, October 4, 2018, 4:15 PM – 4:55 PM
Clark T. Sawin Historical Vignette
This historical lecture memorializes the work of Dr. Clark T. Sawin who served as chair of the ATA History and Archives Committee for many years; as the presenter of the Historical Vignette at ATA annual meetings from 1993 – 2003; and as president of the ATA from 2003-2004.

Supported by the Clark T. Sawin Endowment


The Treatment of Hypothyroidism – from Animal Extracts to Current Controversies

 Peter A. Kopp, MDModerator:  Peter A. Kopp, MD, Professor of Medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

John C. Morris, III, MD

Panelists:  John C. Morris, III, MD, Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic Rochester

Valerie Anne Galton, PhDValerie Anne Galton, PhD, Professor of Physiology and Neurobiology, Emerita, Dartmouth Medical School

Jacqueline Jonklaas, MDJacqueline Jonklaas, MD, Professor of Medicine, Georgetown University Medical Center

Stephen H. LaFranchi, MDStephen H. LaFranchi, MD, Professor, Oregon Health and Science University

Saturday, October 6, 12:30 PM – 1:45 PM
Arthur Bauman Clinical Symposium:

o Cytological Review of Indeterminate Thyroid Nodules and the Genomic Landscape of Benign vs Malignant Nodules (Oscar Lin)

o Review of Available Molecular Assays and Indications for Their Use (Stephanie A. Fish)

o Real-Time Practices: How Well Do Molecular Assays Perform in Clinical Practices – Strengths and Limitations (Richard Mack Harrell and M. Regina Castro)

The Role of Molecular Markers in the Evaluation of Thyroid Nodules: Rationale, Review and Perspectives

 Jennifer A. Sipos, MDModerator: Jennifer A. Sipos, MD, Professor of Medicine, The Ohio State University School of Medicine

 Oscar Lin, MD, PhDPanelists: Oscar Lin, MD, PhD, Chief, Cytology Service, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

 Stephanie A. Fish, MDStephanie A. Fish, MD, Endocrinologist, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

 Richard Mack Harrell, MDRichard Mack Harrell, MD, Co-Director of Memorial Center for Integrative Endocrine Surgery, Memorial Healthcare System

M. Regina Castro, MDM. Regina Castro, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic