The ATA supports thyroid research through the generosity of members, patients, industry, and workplace donors enabling the ATA to award thyroid research grants since 1996.  ThyCa: Thyroid Cancer Survivors, Inc., a member of the ATA Alliance for Patient Education and Thyroid Head and Neck Cancer Foundation (THANC) contribute significant thyroid research grants establishing additional grants for young investigators that are awarded (in total) by expert reviewers on the ATA Research Committee.  Our thanks to the members of the ATA Research Committee who have contributed their time and expertise over many years to the advancement of thyroidology.

1999 ATA Research Grant Recipients

Michele Marinó, MD1999 ATA Grants
Megalin (gp330) in Thyroid Physiology and Pathology
Michele Marinó, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Currently at University of Pisa, Italy

Ann Marie Zavacki, MD1999 ATA Grant
Regulation of Thyroid Hormone Responsive Genes by the Nuclear Receptor RIP 14
Ann Marie Zavacki, MD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts

Dr. Zavacki is currently a Research Associate at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and an Assistant Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School.

Back to Research Grant Listing by Year