ATA Announces Recipients of 2014 John B. Stanbury Pathophysiology Medal and the Distinguished Service Award

October 28, 2014 — The American Thyroid Association will present the John B. Stanbury Thyroid Pathophysiology Medal to Valerie Anne Galton, Ph.D. and the 2014 Distinguished Service Award to Alan Farwell, M.D. at its 84th Annual Meeting, October 29 – November 2, 2014, in Coronado, California.

The John B. Stanbury Thyroid Pathophysiology Medal is given in recognition of outstanding research contributions to the understanding of thyroid physiology or the pathophysiology of thyroid disease. This year’s recipient, Valerie Anne Galton, Ph.D., Professor in Physiology at Dartmouth Medical School (Hanover, NH), has devoted her career to the study and teaching of thyroid physiology. She contributed to the seminal works that characterized the metabolism of thyroid hormone and, together with her colleagues cloned the genes for the type 2 and type 3 deiodinase enzymes. Dr. Galton also contributed to the development of mouse models carrying mutated deiodinase genes, which have been extremely valuable research tools for understanding the role of these enzymes in normal biological processes, growth and development, and disease.

Alan Farwell, M.D., the winner of the 2014 Distinguished Service Award, is Director of the Endocrine Clinics at Boston Medical Center, and Associate Professor of Medicine at Boston University School of Medicine, in Massachusetts. In addition to his extensive academic and clinical activities, Dr. Farwell has been extremely active and served in multiple capacities in the ATA, including as Chair of the Education Committee and the Patient Education and Advocacy Committee, and as a member of the Program Committee and the Website Task Force Publications Committee. He has served two terms on the ATA Board of Directors, is the founding and current Chair of the ATA Alliance for Patient Education, and has been ex officio member of the ATA Advisory Committee. Dr. Farwell has been an Associate Editor and member of the Editorial Board of Thyroid, and since 2009 has been Editor-in-Chief of Clinical Thyroidology for the Public.


The American Thyroid Association (ATA) is the leading worldwide organization dedicated to the advancement, understanding, prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of thyroid disorders and thyroid cancer. ATA is an international membership medical society with over 1,700 members from 43 countries around the world. Celebrating its 91st anniversary, the ATA delivers its mission — of being devoted to thyroid biology and to the prevention and treatment of thyroid disease through excellence in research, clinical care, education, and public health — through several key endeavors: the publication of highly regarded professional journals, Thyroid, Clinical Thyroidology, and VideoEndocrinology; annual scientific meetings; biennial clinical and research symposia; research grant programs for young investigators, support of online professional, public and patient educational programs; and the development of guidelines for clinical management of thyroid disease and thyroid cancer. The ATA promotes thyroid awareness and information through its online Clinical Thyroidology for the Public (distributed free of charge to over 11,000 patients and public subscribers) and extensive, authoritative explanations of thyroid disease and thyroid cancer in both English and Spanish. The ATA website serves as the clinical resource for patients and the public who look for reliable information on the Internet.