The ATA supports thyroid research through the generosity of members, patients, industry, and workplace donors enabling the ATA to award thyroid research grants since 1996.  ThyCa: Thyroid Cancer Survivors, Inc., a member of the ATA Alliance for Patient Education and Thyroid Head and Neck Cancer Foundation (THANC) contribute significant thyroid research grants establishing additional grants for young investigators that are awarded (in total) by expert reviewers on the ATA Research Committee.  Our thanks to the members of the ATA Research Committee who have contributed their time and expertise over many years to the advancement of thyroidology.

1998 ATA Research Grant Recipients

Elzbieta Biesiada, PhD

1998 ATA Grant
Molecular Mechanisms for Thyroid Hormone Regulation of Motor Neuronal Process Growth
Elzbieta Biesiada, PhD
Children’s Hospital of Orange County, Orange, California

1998 ATA Grant
Mutational and Functional Analysis of Candidate Susceptibility Genes in Graves’ Disease 
Yaron Tomer, MD
Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, New York
Currently at Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, New York

Yaron Tomer, MD Yaron M. Tomer is the Chief of the Hilda & J. Lester Gabrilove Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Bone Disease at Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York. Dr. Tomer received his medical degree from the Sackler School of Medicine at Tel Aviv University, Israel. He trained in Internal Medicine at Sheba Medical Center, Israel, and continued his training in Internal Medicine and in Endocrinology at The Mount Sinai Medical Center. Dr. Tomer’s research focuses on the immunogenetic, epigenetic, and environmental mechanisms causing thyroid autoimmunity, and type 1 diabetes. Dr. Tomer serves as a Special Editor of the journal, Thyroid, and serves on the editorial boards of Endocrinology, the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, and Autoimmunity Reviews, among others. He is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, as well as the American College of Endocrinology. Dr. Tomer was the co-Chair of the program committee of the 2010 Spring Meeting of the American Thyroid Association, and served on the program committee of the 14th ITC held in Paris, France in 2010.

1998 ATA Grant
Thyroid Hormone Deficiency During Fetal and Early Childhood Development
Cary N. Mariash, MD
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Cary N. Mariash, MDCary N. Mariash is currently the Medical Director and CEO of the Methodist Research Institute at Methodist Hospital, Indianapolis, Indiana. Formerly he was the director of the Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes at the University of Minnesota. He received his medical degree from the University of California at San Diego and his internal medicine and endocrinology training at the University of Minnesota. His research activities were NIH funded and focused on the role of thyroid hormone and carbohydrates on the regulation of lipogenesis in liver tissue. He currently supervises the basic science laboratories and the clinical research group at MRI. After the funding of the research project Dr. Mariash’s group received NIH funding based on the support from the ATA. The NIH grant was RO1-DK54060 titled “Thyroid Hormone Regulation of Brain Development”.

1998 ATA Grant
Thyroid Hormone Regulation of Mouse Somatostatin 5 Receptor Promoter
Whitney Woodmansee, MD
University of Colorado Health Science Center, Denver, Colorado

Whitney Woodmansee, MD Whitney Woodmanse, MD is currently the Director of Clinical Neuroendocrine Program at Brigham & Womans’s Hospital. She completed her undergraduate and masters degree training at the University of Colorado, followed by medical school training, internal medicine residency and Endocrinology fellowship at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center. Dr. Woodmansee has received many awards including a Student Honors and Research Committee Award in 1990 and 1991, the Robert H. Felix Award for best thesis in 1992, and a Clinical Scientist Development Award from the NIH.

Sung-Woo Kim, PhD – Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
Exploring the Mechanism of Thyroid Hormone Dependent Gene Regulation

Back to Research Grant Listing by Year